Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Holidays out there!  I’ve been getting into the Christmas spirit in many ways in the past week, and today I wanted to give a little “gift” to my fellow knitters in the way of a new free pattern.  This time of year we all celebrate in our own way, and for me, celebrating the birth of Christ makes me pause to appreciate the biggest miracle in my life: having beautiful, healthy children.  So, it seems like the perfect time to introduce my new free children’s hat pattern and highlight the Pat Pat’s Hats charity it was inspired by.  Introducing…

Pat Pat’s Hat

Pattern sized for newborns through teenagers, and uses about 50 g total of worsted weight yarn. It’s a super stash buster for the odd ball of leftover yarn.  The pattern is available free in my ravelry store, or download the pdf now by clicking here.  And yes, this pattern is approved for use by knitters working on charity and fundraising events, of course :) .

As I said, the design was inspired by and for the Pat Pat’s Hats charity that I’ve mentioned here before.  The story of little “Pat Pat” and seeing that really great but simple toddler boy’s patterns were sparse made me think – what a great time to push the designer in me a little and come up with a new pattern just for those handsome little boys.  For more information about the touching story behind the charity, and how to help, check them out on Facebook or in the Ravelry Group.  I heard the hat donations have passed 300 hats!  Congrats!  I’ll be adding my collection very soon.

Lil One has been my model for most of this, in spite of the fact it’s really intended to be a more boy-ish pattern.  Of course, she is two, and somehow expects to be “paid” for her services now.  I had to bribe her with a lollipop to get her to sit still long enough to photo this!  It kinda backfired and created the “Lolli Zombie”, but she still looks pretty cute ;) .  Gotta love that two-year old ‘tude!

As I mentioned in a previous post, the design met with enthusiasm even from her Big Bro, a typically choosy 14-year-old, who truly appreciated the thought.  Yeah!

So, enjoy the pattern, and… Who will you be knitting for this holiday season?

P.S. Unlike my paid patterns, this free pattern has not been tested by any “outside” parties.  Please e-mail me right away if you find any errors or have any trouble following the pattern.  I aim to make every pattern professionally written and easy to follow.  Thanks!

