, , , , ,

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner and for me it’s a giant excuse to use too much red and embellish everything I can get my hands on with hearts!  In honor of this tradition, I made my Lil’ One a pair of hearts for her hair. 

She has that glorious soft curly baby hair and I love to doll her up with little barrettes and clips, so I couldn’t resist translating the crochet heart from my recently released Baby Rock ‘n’ Rollneck pattern into little hair clips for her.  I used some leftovers from my Red Sparkler Scarf, and found some silk buttons in my bottomless button box.

She excitedly asked to wear them as soon as I told her they were for her “haawr”.  (Her baby talk is just too cute.)  I think they came out pretty well!

Happily Hanging with her Hearts in her hair

I then decided I couldn’t stop there.  I made a few spares, and then decided in the fine Victorian tradition of handmade cards I would use them as a jumping off point for a few cards I needed to send.

 I whipped up another purple sock yarn heart for my friend who recently did some testing for me, and then stitched a thank you note.  I am an avid fan of embroidery amongst all my other textile loves, and it was fun to apply it to a quick project on paper.  That inspired yet another card, my Victorian Valentine (more pics on ravlery here).  I had fun adding in even more embroidery and crochet tidbits to this one, and of course I am saving it for my hubby to give him on Valentine’s Day.

So after all that, I decided perhaps my creative friends would like to run with it too.  I give you – Crochet Heart:


Crochet Heart


You will need about 5 yards of fingering weight yarn for each heart.

Crochet abbreviations used in this pattern:

I have noticed there are two systems of naming the stitches in crochet.  I have noted the wraps made before inserting the hook into the base stitch to help clarify the system I am using.

ch – chain

ch sp – chain space

dc – double crochet – 1 wrap starting stitch

sc– single crochet – basic stitch with no wraps.

ss – slip stitch

st, sts – stitch, stitches

tr  –  treble – 2 wraps starting stitch

I recommend  http://www.crochetme.com/glossary/ for a clear set of illustrations for various stitches.


With fingering yarn and size D (3.25 mm) crochet hook:

Round 1:  4 ch, join into circle with ss

Round 2:  2 ch, then working all sts into center of ch4 circle, 1 dc, 2 tr, 1 dc, 1 sc, 1 ss, 1 sc, 1 dc, 2 tr, 2 dc, 2 ch, ss to top of first ch2 to close round.

Round 3:  2 ch, 1 dc, *2 tr into the next st. (increase), repeat from * once more, 1 dc, 1 sc, ss, 1 sc, 1 dc, **2 tr into the next st., repeat from ** once more, 2 dc, working the next group of sts into ch sp, (1 dc, 1 tr, 1 ch, 1 tr, 1 dc), ss to first ch2 to close round. 

 Alignment check:  Be sure as you work Round 3 that the 2 tr into one stitch are worked into the tr sts of round 2 so that the work aligns itself properly to shape the heart.

 Darn in ends, wet block firmly, shaping to accentuate the heart shape.  


The Victorian Valentine variation was actually quite different from the original, but here are some details if you’d like to play with the idea yourself:

Central heart – This started with the Crochet Heart as a base, but then I continued one more round with a ch3, sc edging to frill it up a bit.  It was hooked in Borgs Cottolin 22/2, available at Halcyon Yarn, with a steel lace hook, size 3 (1.85 mm)

Embroidery heart surround – The border was a chain stitched leaf/vine I improvised.  I used three strands of DMC embroidery floss in a variegated red-pink color.  I sketched the heart out lightly in pencil and pre-punched the paper where the stitches would go beforehand.

The flower and leaves – This was a mini crochet improved with two strands of DMC floss and a size 11 (0.8 mm) steel lace hook.


Thanks for stopping by!  Stay tuned for more Valentine’s fun, Patterns and Pictures!