Tags

,

I fell in love with the sample of this pattern called “Tangled up in Rose” at last year’s Connecticut Sheep, Wool and Fiber Festival.   The sparkly merino-tencel “twinkle toes” yarn attracted me like a magnet from across the venue, and then when I tried it on it fit beautifully.  Having spent the first year of my Mommy role in loose clothing and feeling a little bedraggled, it seemed like a great sexy little knit to get back my pre-baby mojo.  I bought the yarn and pattern as a kit with a little extra yarn for good measure, and it sat in my stash until the prospect of Valentine’s Day crept up on me in January and inspired me to start my “Sexy Cranberry” sweater.

It knit up quickly and the smocking was fun, but did require careful tension control to make it even.  The twisted garter edge was a little different, and when beaded, positively fantastic.  I struggled with the neckline b/c the beads made it heavy, but now that it’s all in and “broken in”, I LOVE it!  It is comfortable and easy to wear while being a little sexy and dressy at the same time.

 Sexy Cranberry Details:

Pattern:       Tangled up In Rose, by Mara Labell

Yarn:            Twinkle Toes, in Cranberry,  50% MerinoWool, 50% Tencel, hand dyed by Dye Dreams, 2.3 hanks were used.  (Twinkle Toes by Chameleon Colorworks seems very similar)

Size:               36 inch, worn here with 2 inches negative ease

Mods:     

Added 1 in. to bottom, and 1 in. to body before armhole started (2 in. to overall length)

 Added 1/2 in. to sleeve inseam

I did not overlap the neckline as instructed, but rather set it in with the ends meeting, then nipped it in and stitched the tuck in the back so the beading at the base was flat across.

Notes:       I think if I made it again, I’d add short row shaping to the bust area.  I do end up tugging it down in the front, despite the extra 2 in. in length, but it hits perfectly in the back. 

Sadly, the Dye Dreams company that sold the yarn and pattern kit has since dissolved, but I found the designer, Mara Labell is still active and on ravelry.  She came up with a great design here, so I’m glad she’s still out there doing her thing!   I didn’t see this pattern listed, but perhaps an e-mail to her could get you  a copy.  I can definitely recommend this pattern for fans of sexy fitted knits. I might even make it again!

P.S. Hubby agreed it was a good Valentine’s Day knit😉 !