Tags

, , , ,

So, I’m watching the late news knitting away on my new test knit for “My First Princess Dress” a la christening gown, and I hear that there’s more snow in the forecast.  No &*$!@? way!  Looks like my winter boots can’t be retired just yet.

On the bright side though, that also means I can wear my Scarlet Sparkler Scarf with my big red boots for a little while longer.  This is my new favorite scarf, if I do say so myself.  It is one of my recently released patterns, and I thought I would share it here for those who need a little color and sparkle to get them through the grey, dreary, mushy days ahead that we call “Spring” in New England.  It started off as a simple desire for a reversible scarf, and inspired by the ice and snow this winter, it got “iced” with sparkly beads along the way.  And with perfect timing, I had sparkly snow and ice to photograph it with which created some interesting “landscape” pics.

Of course the genuine landscape was pretty spectacular too, and late one afternoon I caught this iced maple tree in a pic:

My scarf is wearing well, and the Tosh Sock is just so nice and soft (sorry alpaca, but this merino is truly a sensual delight around my neck).  Of course, Lil’ One, my biggest fan, has stolen it a few times and styled it in her own dramatic way:

So here are the details for this soft, bright, sparkly scarf:

 Scarlet Sparkler Scarf

A  6.5”x58” reversible scarf featuring baby cables & beaded chevron lace.

Materials –

Two skeins (395 yards) Madelinetosh hand dyed “Tosh Sock” in Scarlet, or about 500 yards of any fingering/sock yarn with good stitch definition.  The example pictured also employed alternating skeins to create a consistent color throughout.  

Approximately 150 size 6/o beads in transparent silver, or the color of your choice.

Needles & notions –

One pair U.S. 3 (3.25mm) needles (or size needed to obtain gauge)

Size 9 (1.15mm) lace steel crochet hook for beading

Stitch markers, Darning needle

Gauge –

28 stitches and 38 rows equal  4” x 4” in stockinette stitch on U.S. 3 (3.25mm) needles.

My pattern is available on Ravelry, or simply click below to purchase! 

  

