Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been another crazy week for me, but I am happy to say I have a FREE PATTERN for you today!  As Lil’ One would say, it’s a “neck’in”.  I don’t wear jewelry much since Lil’ One came along because she pulls, begs and whines whenever she sees anything around my neck – and I won’t even mention how hard it is to explain that pierced earrings don’t pop off like Nonna’s clip ons.  Ouch!  I do, however, love jewelry.  So when it came to creating some feminine gifts for spring, I thought why not take a step away from the scarves and sweaters and whip up a little necklace instead.

“Clover lace” is my nickname for the way the bead sits between three eyelets that form a sort of clover shape in negative space.  I had noticed it at the base of the chevrons when I designed the Scarlet Sparkler Scarf, and decided to try to isolate just that little section.  I experimented and figured out how to create a stable flat narrow band of lace and beading.  It struck me as a little Edwardian or even Victorian, so I rummaged around for some scrap costume pearls to make the first pendant for the purple silk prototype.

 

As usual, a few changes were made to improve the design in the second necklace.  I planned ahead and attached the stone pendant I found at my local Jo-ann’s while binding off this time, and added and extension “chain” to make it more adjustable.

 

A really good blocking was the ticket to making the lace open up.  I used a pin in every hole along the edges, and some extras to secure the ends, tilting them outward slightly to really pull the lace pattern out.  I know many people who avoid blocking like my daughter avoids the bathtub, but I consider it just another artistic step.  I love carefully pinning and watching the lace grow and open up into its true glory. 

 

All in all, I am very happy with the necklaces.  I have about a million ideas for new variations – pearls and cameo pendants, crystal beads with crystal teardrop pendants – the color list is endless.  BTW – this was my first time using the DMC pearl cotton.  I loved it.  The colors are beautiful and it really made it easy to knit at such a small gauge.

So now I share my newest pattern with you:

Clover Lace Choker

Size:       As shown, the base necklace can be blocked to about 14 – 14.5 inches.  With the extension chain, as shown in the green version, it can be extended to about 16 inches.

Materials:

One skein DMC “Pearl Cotton, Size 5”, shade no. 988 (used in green necklace), or about 18 yards of Halcyon Yarn’s “2/12 Gemstone Silk”, color no. 114 (used in purple necklace).

25 size 6/o glass beads in “Metallic Gold”

You may wish to have extra beads on hand if you would like to incorporate them into creating pendants as I did in the samples.

A pendant of your choice (optional)

One jewelry clasp of your choice, I used a sewn on toggle clasp in my samples.

Needles and Notions

One pair U.S. 0 (3.25mm) needles

Size B (2.25 mm) crochet hook

Size 9 (1.15 mm) lace steel crochet hook for beading

Darning needle

Visit the ravelry pattern page or click here to download the Free Pattern Now!

Have fun with it!

– CG

