Tags

, , , , , ,

Something to aspire to:  … Is there a skill or project that makes your mind boggle at the sheer time, dedication and mastery of the craft? …

My current “aspiration” is to complete a full length, fully fashioned, fully lined and tailored, cable knit coat.  I had the idea more than a year ago I think, and the sheer length of knitting (not to mention the budget for the yarn) has made me put it off.  As with many things, blog week seems to be inspiring me to action. Today I finally committed to a silhouette sketch and pulled together the samples for a final “review”.  Here they are:

 

The buttons are a vintage find, I’ll be recycling a fur collar from an old coat, and the yarn is Knit Picks’ “Gloss HW” in the color “Admiral”.  I had made the cable swatch into the “Cable Sampler Neck Wrap” back in the fall, but then never took another step toward making the actual coat.  Part of the delay was that I didn’t feel comfortable with the sewing and construction that would sit under the knitted garment.  Now, with my recent lining and sewing experience, I feel a bit more confident that I can actually pull it off.  Wish me luck!

2KCBWDAY6

