Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This past weekend I was able to attend the Connecticut Sheep & Wool Festival in Tolland, CT with my Mom and Lil One.  This year Lil One was old enough to enjoy the animals and already seems to be appreciative of soft wool skeins.  She held the skeins to her cheek, and if she was pleased, she pronounced them “soofft”.  Of course furry, fluffy animals were the thrill of the day for her, and we all fell in love with this particularly cute mini Llama:

Isn’t he/she just darling?

Lil one had fun searching some of the discount bins at Dirty Water Dyeworks

… and later I let her pick out this cherry colored skein with a little cashmere in it for a new Breiwick Beret which she admired in the booth. 

If the baby picks it out it doesn’t really count as stash building – right? ;)   I was pretty good about buying yarn.  The only other yarn I actually purchased was this skein of glorious dandelion yellow sock yarn from the discount bin. 

Sock yarn doesn’t count either – right? 

What I did buy, and knew I would, were buttons!  I was just as smitten with Dusty’s Vintage Buttons this year as last. She has a fabulous assortment, and this year seemed even more glorious.  She’s jovial and fun to shop with, and I knew I’d need to spend my budgeted dollars there first this time.  Bins and bins of buttons called out like candy to a baby.  I especially love the loose bins, but in the end, I bought a few select cards of special buttons I just couldn’t live without. 

 These vintage 1940’s glass buttons will most likely appear on the next baby cardigan design:

These iridescent green beauties will be for a cardi for me, perhaps in a Madelinetosh “Jade” colorway:

And finally, the impressive floral shell buttons that grabbed me from across the booth will be for a “grown-up” Hepburn Coat I am planning for the winter season in a pale wheat and lavender color from Misti Alpaca. 

My favorite vendor in the whole show has got to be Mochas Fiber Designs.  I remained disciplined, and didn’t actually buy anything, but I did take down the info. on this wonderful 50% silk and 50% merino DK yarn “Kismet” in a subtle lovely color she calls “Lauren” that is a pale gold and purple, hand painted in her special watercolor way.  I would like to invest in a whole sweater’s worth.  I’m thinking the Llani Tee might provide just the right foil for this lovely yarn.  I’ll have to wait to knit through a bit more of my stash before I can jump on that!

It was a great day, and it was especially nice to share it with my Mom and my budding fashion assistant, Lil One.  I leave you with Lil One clapping and tapping to the celtic music group at the festival: