Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

From Small Things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?”

So, this week I’m joining in for the Wednesday “Yarn Along”.  I’ve hesitated in the past to jump in on this because I am sloowww when it comes to reading books lately.  I just don’t dedicate much time to it.  Knitting really does occupy the vast majority of my free time.  But, Lil One has been ever more enthusiastic about reading, and as a consequence we have been making the Library a regular routine.  It’s so fun to share the joy of books with her.  It reminded me of the summers I spent devouring book upon book.  I even had to be reminded to eat some days because I was so wrapped up in a good book.  So together, Mommy and Lil One are setting out to do a bit more reading in the future.

This week we have been reading her current favorite “Bunny My Honey“, by Anita Jeram, again and again… and again!  The story is about a little baby bunny, Bunny My Honey, who gets lost, then found by his Mommy.  She hangs on each page, and sympathizes with furrowed brow as the little bunny cries for his Mommy, then claps and smiles when they are reunited. 

Who knew a board book could inspire such drama!  Why this book?  Well, I think it might have something to do with our nightly meetings with this little fellow visiting the front garden.

Our very own baby bunny.  He munches leaves of grass happily each evening in my garden and each evening Lil One asks to “Go see the Bunny!?!”  She squeals and joyously announces “BUNNY!  He’s Cuuute!”  She then remarks on his “twitchy nose and gweat big feet!” – just like Bunny My Honey’s.  If only I could train him to eat only the weeds!

As for knitting, I’ve just finished the knitting on my Oriel Lace Pullover and my Green Tweed Serendipity Stripes.  They are both in finishing mode – argh!  So, I’ve been trying to do a little darning and seaming each day, but I admit, I had to start another project to procrastinate just a little.  I launched into a shawl, “Romanesque”  by Emily Ross, using the Sundara Sock Yarn in Crimson I’d bought myself for Christmas last year.  Love, love, love it!  Red is my favorite color, so I am humming along with this one, just soaking up the rich tuscan red and lovely architectural lace. 

Well, I have to hop along back to work now!  Have a hoppin’ good day!