Tags

, , , , , ,

From Small Things

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? Take a photo and share it either on your blog or on Flickr.

It’s hot – and getting hotter!  The mid summer flowers are in their glory, but mostly I’ve been peaking at them from behind drawn curtains trying to stay cool inside.  I did pop outside today to snap a few pics today and this very obliging bee posed for me on my “Big Sky After Midnight” Echinacea blooms.  How appropriate, as I am now reading “The Language of Bees” by Laurie R. King.  This is written by one of my favorite authors, in my favorite genre, and thanks to my rockstar librarian sister, I have a signed copy 🙂 !  This title is one of a series of mystery suspense novels which feature a retired Sherlock Holmes and his newly penned side-kick/wife, Mary Russell.  All of the (now 11) “Mary Russell” novels are well written, and at this point I’ve come to love the very realistic interplay between husband and wife, as well as the wonderful suspenseful plots.  They remind me a bit of Dorothy L. Sayers wonderful stories featuring Lord Peter Whimsey and Harriet Vane.  So, Sis, if you’re reading this, any word on the Pirate King?

As for knitting, I’ve added yet another little project to the WIP list.  The honey colored circle is my latest crazy knitting adventure using the “Eyelet Cowl” pattern by Cathy Carron and a smattering of recently restored stash items rolled into one sparkly, wooly yarn.  I am also making good progress on my Bella Rossa Romanesque shawl.  I finished the fourth of the lace repeats and I’m coming right up on the lace edging.  Still absolutely over the moon with the yarn!

So –  “Bee” still, knit and read, and stay cool! 

