Tags

, , , , , , , ,

From Small Things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

I’ve been busy this week, in so many ways.  I’ve finished three projects, and started three more.  I think that has to be some sort of record for me.  Here’s a taste of what I’m up to:

I got back to my skills building promise to myself and began re-reading Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways for Sock Knitters, Book One, this week.  I love this book.  The illustrations and designs are all wonderful.  I have no frame of comparison, but if this is sock knitting – I’m in love.  I made my first official socks a ways back, my Buttercup Socks, the Little Sky “learning sock”, a top down sock, from this book.  I also mastered “Judy’s magic cast on” this week.  What a revelation.  I can totally see using it for more than just socks.  It really goes quickly once you get the hang of it, and is truly, totally, invisible!!  I’m super excited now to break out the hot pink sock yarn and make some “Mommy and Me” socks for Lil One and I.  I’m going to attempt the “Emma” sock for Lil One, and then go back to the book for “Veil of Leaves” for myself.

So, whilst I concentrate on learning sock knitting, and cannot share my current projects yet (super secret gift knitting), let me share one of my FO for the past week.  The little Berry Breiwick Beret turned out beautifully, but not so little.  She seems to like it, but if I pop it straight on her head, she can’t see.  For now, she’ll have to wear it slouchy “baby bohemian” style.  She seemed to like to play with it, and despite the heat, I did get her to try it on for a few cute pics.

 Looking fashionably pensive.

“It’s too big, Mamma!”

“Oh, please!  No more photos!”

She’s just so, stinkin’, cute – even if I do say so myself!  Have a great week everyone!