Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

From Small Things

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? Take a photo and share it either on your blog or on Flickr.

So, today after catching up with a little weeding in the garden, I snapped this little stack of distractions in front of my newly tidied Coral Bell (Heuchera).


It’s been crazy busy for the last two weeks, in mostly good ways, but all in all I have made progress and spent lots of time with the family, so that’s good.  Forgive the slightly chaotic post, but I feel I must catch up with good news and knitting mile stones! 

Reading wise, I’ve been savouring my fiction in small portions, glanced through my new Vogue Knitting (pretty good), and have kept my feet to the fire (pardon the pun) working on learning all about sock knitting.  I’ve made good progress on socks.  Lil One got to try on hers today, and I started mine last night (in the pic above).  I’ll share all the details later this week!  A good deal of my reading time has actually been blogs recently.  I caught up with some of my favs, like Fig Knits, Untangling Knots, and the host of our Yarn Along, Small Things, and many of the participants,  but I have two things I am really excited to share from my Blog reading:

1.  My Stitch ‘n’ Bitch friend Nutmeg Knitter had a beautiful baby boy!  (She shared his first blog pic on last week’s YA post.)  So cute, and absolutely showered with hand knit gifts, I’m sure.  My warmest wishes to the whole family. 

2.  My baby dress design was featured in a blog!  Wool Free and Lovin’ Knit  blogs about the wool free world of knitting, as the name suggests, and she did a lovely post featuring the “My First Princess Dress” pattern I designed as one of her “Wool Free and Wonderful” features.  Thank you, Joan, for your lovely post.

So, all this was going on while I was away on vacation!  We went up for the week to VT to spend time with my family, and my Dad’s awesome 1942 Cadillac.  He regularly shows the car, which he has worked hard to restore, and took home a first place for the third time at this year’s VT gathering!  Yeah, Dad!  Well deserved.  Here’s the beautiful automobile on the show field last week:

Of course, Lil One decided the arm rest was just perfect to perch on, and became the car’s embassador cheerfully quipping “hi!” to everyone who chose to check out the interior.  Here she is hanging out in the “fancy car” with Gramma.

Now, I’m going to sit back and savour the last few days of summer with my sock knitting and my Hubby!

Catch ya later!

