Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I finished my latest shawl, but I did want to share a few details in the form of a “FO” post.  My Bella Rossa Romanesque shawl turned out to be a real “nail biter”, with literally only about 18 inches of yarn left when all was said and done.  But hang on, let me begin at the beginning.

I bought the absolutely stunning Sundara Sock yarn back around November of 2010 as a “Happy Christmas to Me” present.  It took weeks of debate, but I just kept coming back to the rich Crimson color.  Red is my favorite color, and finding truly deep, jewel-tone red in the yarn universe is actually pretty unusual.  I was not at all disappointed when the yarn arrived – stunning, rich and soft.  I had splurged on two skeins figuring I’d make a shawl, as sock knitting was not in my knitting vocabulary at that point.  I debated between Liz Abinante’s “Traveling Woman” and Emily Ross’ “Romanesque“, but after making the smaller Romanesque for my Sister’s Christmas gift, I decided the semi-circle was the way to go, and I loved the pattern.  Here is Lil One in full princess form, playing with Mommy’s new shawl (which of course I made for her, right😉 ? )

It’s actually pretty nice on me too, but she’s the drama princess!

So, when I decided to make a nice big sock yarn shawl, somehow the fact that I was short by a couple hundred yards compared to the specs didn’t really register until after I was well into it.  What to do?  Keep on knitting, improvise, adapt and overcome!  So here are the mods I made to save what could have been a huge, ripping, disaster:

FO: Bella Rossa Romanesque

 

Pattern: Romanesque, by Emily Ross, larger size
Yarn: 2 skeins Sundara Sock, in the Crimson colorway
Needles: US 5 (3.75 mm)
Mods: 
1.  To save yardage and finish with what I had, I removed one full pattern row (109 & 110) from the edge pattern, slightly modifying the following rows to correct the alignment (over stitches 38-40 on the chart). 
2.  I then began casting off the edge one full row early using the somewhat yarn-hungry cast off as given.  

It was so close, that when I was about 10 inches from the end casting off, I ran out of yarn!  After several dozen curses emanated from my mouth, I remembered the bit leftover from when I ended the first skein and started the second at a row edge, and was able to join it and complete the cast off.  Whew!  I don’t even notice the missing pattern row, and the cast-off edge is not curling or doing anything odd, so it’s all good. 

I love the finished shawl’s semi-circular shape because it allowed me to make a larger shawl which stays on my shoulders easier without ending up under my bottom when I sit down.  All the way around, a new favorite take along accessory.  It makes a great hip wrap too, BTW.  So, all the stressful “knit faster, I’m running out of yarn” moments were worth it!  Lil One agrees – “I like it.  It’s booiful”