Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

This week I continue on the pink knitting theme, with my third candy/Barbie/Princess/Dora pink project in a row.  Lil One was given the choice to pick any yarn for her next sweater in the back warehouse (discount area) at WEBS on my last visit there.  Of course, she chose fuzzy, wuzzy, pink-pink-pink Nashua Handknits Creative Focus Chunky yarn.  I could do with a little less fuzz myself, but the yarn is very thick and cozy and will knit up to be a very warm coat for her.  Oh, right, the pattern!  I’m making her the “Top-down Baby and Children Cable Yoke Jacket“.  The yoke is fantasticly clever – cabled and short-row shaped.  She declared the pattern picture “boo-i-ful” and stole the cover picture to put in her purse.  So I guess I’m on the right track. 

Speaking of top-down, I got a new knitting book at the library today:  Modern Top-Down Knitting by Kristina McGowan.  In the pic, I have it open to a possible pattern pick, the Blueberry Cardigan.  I’ve been on the hunt for a cardigan for jeans that would be kinda loose and easy going.  I was thinking something a little more “denim” blue, but I love this cobalt color too.  This could be it. 

Overall the book is nicely done.  I don’t love the photos and fit of some of the garments, but conceptually there is a lot to capture my imagination.  I especially love all of the dresses.  It is one of those things on my list of “new to me” knitting.  I’ve owned a few knitted dresses and I really liked them, so knitting one would be very satifying.  I think it is just a quantity issue – it seems like a lot of yarn, and I’d want to use something really nice for such a big investment in time making it.  Soon, though.  Maybe for spring.

One more little update I’d like to share:  My Silk Christening Gown is now for sale on Etsy! (click here)  This was my sample knit for the “My First Princess Dress” pattern I published last spring.  If you know anyone who would appreciate a hand knit silk gown, please share the link!  Have a great week everyone!