Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

In addition to all of the previously mentioned reading, my friend “WifeMomKnitter” generously lent me a copy of Knitting Knee-Highs to add to my sock knitting knowledge, and so far I love it.  I think the information at the beginning on how to modify and size the knee-highs is super helpful, and for me, it will allow me to adapt patterns for Lil One as she is the planned recipient of most of my knee-high knitting.  I like knee-highs too, but being tall I’ve always had a tough time finding any that actually fit.  I am really excited about making myself some too, because I’ll be able to have something that fits for the first time!  I tell ya – if I wasn’t so unconventionally sized, I don’t think I would be such an avid creator of clothing.  Thanks, genetics! 

Anyway, “on the needles” are two things.  The dark green snake of lace is going to become a Rock Island shawl by Jared Flood, which I’ve nicknamed “Green Rocks“, that is if I can get through the 71 repeats of edging lace before Christmas!  I love the finished look, so as long as I keep the photo close by for inspiration, I’m sure I’ll get there.  This complexity meant casting on another more basic “knitting with a toddler” project, however.  I decided to break out one of my own designs, and do a little fall sweater for Lil One – enter the Tuscan Toddler:

I am totally in love with the Lana Bambu Yarn from Cascade Yarns  The sunset colors are amazing and it reminds me of Tuscany, the bamboo adds just enough sheen to make it seem very posh, and the single fluffy strand knits up feather weight yet warm.  I will be adding this one to my wish lists for my own sweater very soon.  I edged it with some leftover Knit Picks Shine Worsted in Clementine.  This pattern is a 3/4 sleeved version of the Silk Tipped Toddler Tee that I designed last year.  It is technically still a “WIP” because I have to create/find a waist tie to run through the eyelets.  As usual, I completely over estimated how big Lil One has gotten.  She has grown since last year, but it seems she’s only taller!  She is still only 18.5 inches around.  (On my pattern page from last year I noted that she had an 18.5 inch chest!)So, the sweater will be great over things, but was kinda falling off when I first tried it on her this morning, especially around the neckline.  Here’s a pic showing how loose it was.

The same sort of thing happened with my Periwinkle Rayonnant sweater.  The acrylic blend yarns I’ve used seem to stretch out more than expected and create these loose tops.  Either that or my Lil One and I have narrow shoulders 😉 !  In any case, I tried out a fix for this on our sweaters today to see if I could snug the necklines to stay in place a bit better.  It worked!  I ran a transparent thread of jewelry elastic along the top edge of the neck, catching the purls behind the cast on, and tied the ends in a knot after snugging the edge to where it needed to be.  It worked like a charm. Here is a pic of the adjusted neck (which is also in the first pics in the post).

I tried it on my sweater too, and it was a little trickier with a rolled edge, but it worked.  The best part is, when she grows, I can just pick out the strand and snip it and remove it quite easily.

So, enjoy the coming fall, have fun in the cooler weather, and play with the leaves!

