Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

It’s now raining steadily outside my window.  I love rainy days.  Not every day, but once in a while the excuse they bring with them to sit quietly, peacefully reading or knitting is very welcome.  Even Lil One seems to slow down a bit and relax.  (Ok, today, not so much, but it has happened before!) 

I’ve had so much knitting going on it’s a bit crazy.  This weekly check-in really helps me define my progress.  So, since last week, I knit a hat for me, a hat for charity, cast on toddler sized knee-highs, and yet another hat for charity, plus continued on with my shawl, slogging through a total of 63 repeats of the lace edge pattern.  Whew!  I had no idea I had managed to squeeze so much in this week!  I did read a little too.  I spent quite a bit of time with my knitting of the moment books: Modern Top-Down Knitting, Knitting Knee-Highs and my constant companion New Pathways for Sock Knitters.  You see, the top-down book inspired a hat making frenzy, and the sock knitting books are my “one, two punch” to take on the toe-up and knee-high knitting goals in one shot, I hope.  And on this rainy day, and others, during a peaceful moment here and there I have also been reading “The Language of Bees” and it is as intriguing and fun as ever. 

So, a bit more about the tale of how hats have started to multiply like rabbits around here.  I made myself a hat first, from the top-down, basically to use up a random skein of wool in my stash, and because I needed a hat for my favorite fall coat.  I was pleasantly surprised that the pattern, Mulberry Hat by Kristina McGowan, was not only well written, but the technique is fun and flexible.  I loved the added structure of the brim offered by this particular design, which actually mimics one of my favorite non-knitted hats.  I am not a stocking cap sort of girl, so this made it feel like a real ladies hat, even a little vintage, so I was in hat heaven.  I would definitely make this one again!

Then, I decided to make some hats for the charity knit that NutmegKnitter is coordinating for “Pat Pat Hats”.  Click Here to see her info. on it.  I thought is was a great way to help out, and burn up some of those small bits of stash yarns.  Add to that, the charity donation’s namesake was a little boy named Patrick (“PatPat”), and NutmegKnitter just had a little boy herself, I felt perhaps I would try to design something new in their honor, and make it a nice clean “boy-ish” design.  Now I was “knitting with fire”.  The combination of all these influences inspired this new design:

If course, here, Lil One is sporting a very girl-ish look.  I liked it myself – clean, un-fussy, but not boring – but, here’s what knocked me off my chair – Big Bro saw it and said “Wow, that’s a cool hat”.  I asked if he’d like one, and he said “Yeah!  That’d be cool!”  That’s right folks, a fourteen year old boy actually liked it, and wants one!  He looked over the palette of Knit Picks Swish for me and picked out his colors, Black and Dusk Blue of course, and I ordered them right away.  I was so pleased that I was able to design something for the little men in our lives that not only was fun to make, but was actually a likeable design for someone as finicky as a teenage boy.  For me knitting for people is one of the ways I let them know “I love you”, so I am really pleased to be able to make something for Big Bro. 

So, stay tuned:  I’ll be sizing and writing a pattern as I make a few more “Pat Pat Hats”, and I’ll be sharing the design for free here and on ravelry in the coming month.

