Tags

, , , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

Two weeks have flown by since I’ve checked in here on my blog!  Time flies when you’re having fun (or busy, or your 2-year-old officially does not nap anymore)!  Anyway, I’ve been knitting like crazy, bought new yarns at both Knit Picks and WEBS, and launched into a new kind of reading – The E-Mag.  I decided to try out the new e-mag titles at Interweave this past week, and while I’m not totally impressed, I did find they had some useful content.  I purchased (on sale BTW) the Fall 2011 “Sockupied”, and also the Fall 2011 premiere of “Colorknits”.  Basically, Interweave seems to be struggling with the technical side of this publication format.  The layout and photography were, as usual, lovely.  The content was good, but a little lighter than I’d expect for the asking price of $14.99 and the fact that it is digital (unlimited “space” in some ways).  The Sockupied was better than the Colorknits, IMHO, but both suffered a little from a lack of intuitive navigation queues which made it a little tricky to find out the full extent of the content.  Granted, I’ve spent a lot of time working on digital design for my “real job”, so I can be a bit pickier than most.  In any case, I did find this fun sock pattern, Rocky River Socks, in the Sockupied that really seemed to work well for the crazy, fun, multicolored yarn that I always want to buy, but can’t imagine how it would work.  Well, next time it’ll go in the shopping bag! 

… Anyone know a good contractor to blow out my studio?  (;) My stash seems to be growing despite my break-neck knitting pace!…

Knitting wise, I am slowly but surely coming along on my “Green Rocks” shawl.  The main pattern chart is actually pretty logical and I can see how the pattern is working so mistakes can be caught and fixed quickly.  In addition, I’ve got one sock done for Lil One’s knee-highs, (little socks are just sooo cute), I just started swatching her new “tiny tea leaves” purple sweater, finished another 2 “Pat Pat” hats and managed to knit up a new headband and hand-warmer set for me.  More details later, but for now, behold the handsome teenager happily wearing his new hat!

No, really, he loves it!  He wore it to school and everything!

See y’all next week!