Tags

, , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

 

We’ve been sick this week, Lil One and I, so all activities outside of nose blowing have slowed to a crawl.  My grown up picture books (Louisa Harding’s Cardigans, and a book called Walls, The Best of Decorative Treatments, by Florence De Dampierre) and sock needles have been hanging in the kitchen, next to the tissues, for the odd moment when I’m not chasing after Lil One to “Blow!” or slumped over my tea wishing I had a nanny. 

On the knitting side, I finished up a few things in a row.  My “Purple to Unite the Fall” sweater, Lil One’s Knee Highs, and even the green tweedy sweater I knit back in June got sewn up… then the first sneeze hit right when I decided to undertake a brand new design.  That actually started out well, but the fog in my head has to clear before I can move ahead because math is one of the fist things to go when I have a cold.

What to do, then…

Ah Hah!  The beekeepers quilt!!!  This was the perfect answer to how not to get frustrated over not knitting, but not knitting anything requiring complexity.  As predicted, it is addictive, even whilst ill.  I’ve finished about 8 or 9 at this point, and so far it is fun, and satisfying to knit the little buggers and stuff them up.  Lil One likes to play with them, and it didn’t matter when I made a mistake on one, because it was just on to the next one.  I am going to make it a “Memory Quilt” for Lil One.  I’m using as many leftovers as I can from the clothes I’ve knit her so she’ll have a little bit of her baby dress, or sweater represented in her quilt, much like a traditional fabric quilt back in the day.  I’ve pulled apart worsted weights to make two strands of fingering, and tripled and doubled my finer lace yarns as well.  So, with a little creativity, I should be able to get quite a few things into the quilt.  I’m excited to try some embroidery and duplicate stitching as well.  It really is a fun, low pressure way to keep knitting when life is a little more of a pain in the booty.

While I may have added beekeeping to the knitting roster, on the reading side, I say “Bye, Bye, Bees!”  I finished The Language of Bees, and I loved it.  I was almost tempted to pick up the sequel God of the Hive just so I wouldn’t have to stop reading about the persistent Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, but alas, I read it first.  Silly me.  I just really love the characters, the realistic emotions and wonderful tension Laurie King creates in the stories.  I highly recommend any of this series, but this duo was definitely one of my favorites.  It was time to say goodbye to the bees in the garden too, and they’ve been furiously working the last blooms in my garden.  There must have been 20 of them on the one cluster of Sedum last week!  I took some final photos of our busy friends.  Lil One will be sad to see them go.  She loves to watch the fuzzy little bees working away. 

So, we’ll all try to feel better, and rest up for the coming holidays.  Have a good week out there, and savour the gift of a warm day, or a lovely fall flower while you can.

