Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

So, after ballet class drama, week 2, and dealing with even more toddler ‘tude through the afternoon, I really didn’t get around to taking any new pictures.  I feel like sharing anyway –  So forgive the late and slightly out of date photo!

I started reading a new mystery novel called The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley.  Coming off the brilliantly written Mary Russell, I was a little cranky at first with how the main character is written, Flavia de Luce.  There seemed to be something off about her thought patterns and observations that wasn’t tracking with her age (11 years), or her sex.  I think perhaps the author might have pushed the idea of a precocious girl with an unexpected lack of emotion a little too much.  Now that I’m into it a bit (1/2 way?) she is growing on me.  I think as the story moves ahead a little realism comes out, a few emotional connections, a little fear, and a little friendship help make her seem human again.  The mystery aspect is nicely obscure, and I am interested to see how it resolves! 

We have all recovered from our colds, and yet somehow the knitting hasn’t really progressed all that much.  I’m about halfway through a “Mermaid Dress” for the Lil One which I cast on when I was pitching around for an easy and ready-to-go knit.  It’s coming out cute, and it’s cute that she’s nicknamed it a mermaid dress (after the colors apparently).  The sweater in the pic is actually done, as of last week in fact.  It’s the fall edition of the sweater I was designing last spring, Serendipity Stripes – Green.  It was a trick to get her into it at first, but apparently good things come to those who wait.  One morning she excitedly wanted to wear it, and enjoyed it all day long without batting an eyelash.  I guess she really is a girly girl (moody-woman-in-training, that is)😉 .  Anyway, she had fun with her new discovery, her Hello Kitty Pez Candy Dispenser, while I tried to get some pics:

 

I’ll share details when I actually get my act together to write the pattern.  For now, I’ll just say I am so happy with the color!   It really shows off those big green eyes.  So innocent looking, yet such a pain in my a– some days!  That’s why they’re cute, so we don’t give up!

 

Looking forward to the YA posts!  …Later!