Tags

, , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

Christmas cheer continues to appear in every corner of our home.  Good news is, I’ve officially gotten “back to work” designing like crazy again.  I am always creating, but the business side of mechanically pushing pattern making and submissions can get behind without an official schedule.  In spite of the Holiday rush, I’ve gotten back to the nitty-gritty in recent weeks, and with any luck, my patterns will be published one way or the other regularly throughout the New Year.  I guess it’s kind of any early resolution.  Wish me luck!

The bad news is, I can’t really tell you what I’m knitting because it’s top secret until submissions are accepted and the patterns move forward into their various publications.  So bear with me, the ginger knitting you see is what I’m working on, but I can’t really tell you what it is until later! 

Reading has been minimal but fun recently.  Since my last Yarn Along post, I did finish The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie a “Flavia DeLuce” mystery.  It turned out to be a fun read in the end, despite my hesitation early on.  I really couldn’t guess “who-dun-it” ’til the very end.  So Bravo to Mr. Bradley, very nice series debut.  Then, there was a pause….

I finally chose a new book, The Handmaid and the Carpenter: A Novel, by Elizabeth Berg, because it’s a novel about the Nativity, and well, it seemed appropriate.  I actually haven’t read any of it yet, but I’ll let you know how it goes when I do.  In other “reading” I cam across a treasure of a children’s book called Pocket Full of Posies, A Treasury of Nursery Rhymes, by Salley Mavor.  I just had to share it here because the needlework on felt done to illustrate this book is just amazing and inspiring.  Check out the details!!

The two girls at tea reminded me of my Sister and I, and again, the details are just amazing and so creative :

It is nice some times to step away from my steady diet of knitting and remember some of the other fabulous needle arts I’ve tried, and appreciate the textile artists who’ve taken them to the highest levels.  Lil One loves it, and I can’t stop studying it myself.  Of course, lucky us, we got another signed copy from my fabulous librarian Sister.  Just look at the cute little illustration she did for us:D !  Thank you Auntie!  I really recommend that all my crafty friends out there pick up a copy of this book!

It reminded me of another family item we cherish – the Advent Calendar my Mom made for us when we were little.  It’s so nice to share our crafts with family and see how all the crafters before us inspire what we do today.  We are using it in our home now, building up excitement each day (and learning to count!) by adding another little felt ornament to our tree.  Here’s a pic of my favorite little “Snow Couple” from the calendar.

See you next time yarn lovers and textile artists!  Stitch On!

