Tags

, , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

Knitting: Super secret design in progress.

Reading: Ummm… not much!

I have literally been dedicating every spare moment lately to working on my latest batch of designs.  When my hands ache from hours of knitting (or my head aches from yet another 2 year old cry for independence), I take a break and peruse my usual collection of knitting literature, dreaming of future knitting.  I know, how obsessed.  But things are not always as they seem.  Take the latest issue of Vogue Knitting.  When I first got the issue, I turned to the page pictured above and absolutely fell in love with it.  It’s a poncho designed by the earthy, yet always modern, Norah Gaughan.  As I kept coming back to that page over several days, I began to realize it had nothing to do with knitting. 

It was the scene, the styling.  She is calm, confident, lounging in delicious, charmeuse, palazzo pants, a cozy, cabled, luxurious poncho, and barefoot!  I wished, just for a moment, to be in her shoes – or lack there of.  I wished I had pristine floors where I could pad about shoe-less without fear of impaling myself on a plastic toy, or squishing into a stealth cheerio.  I wished I moved in an uncluttered environment where silky pants and billowing knits would not be immediately assailed by tugging toddlers and jumping dachsies.  I wished I even sat still long enough on a beautiful, sunny winter morning to need a thick cabled sweater indoors!  I know that in about 2 or 3 days of this elegant, organized existence I would miss the chaos and love of my toddler, teen, three dog and one sturdy fish life.  I do love my whole crazy life, but now and then, it does seem like a lovely thing. 

What I realized is, like most consumers, what I liked really had nothing to do with the product at all.  It was what I was wishing for in these slow, closed in days of winter – a lovely long vacation with my husband 🙂 ! 

I am totally adding this sweater to my favs. though 😉 !

So what are you dreaming of while knitting and reading this winter?

