Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

Fate has been against me lately in some ways.  Calamity befell my computer causing a big gap in productivity, including my blogging.  Apologies all around, and it’s good to back joining in for another Yarn Along!

I hope today was a sign that things will improve.  Winter in New England is always full of crazy days of weather, and today was no exception.  It was positively balmy today, not a bit like winter.  The sun this afternoon reached deep into my house with a lovely warm glow.  How appropriate then, my Sweet Ginger Scarf is on the needles, and it seemed even more luxurious in that warm, sunny spot on may favorite antique chair today.  It is a gift for my equally warm and sweet amber-eyed hubby, and it’s coming along slowly but surely.  It got bumped forward for some knitting for submission deadlines, and some quick little toddler things that I just had to get out of my head, but now I’m going to dedicate my knitting time to this.  I’m using one of my favorite yarns again, Tosh Sock, in the ginger colorway, which is masculine but not dull or drab.  Hubby is not exactly into “home spun” when it comes to his wardrobe, so I went with a fine weight merino, and a subtle, textured, reversible stitch pattern to give him a scarf that will look equally smart with a fine wool dress overcoat, or a more casual pea-coat.  I’ll be publishing the pattern as a sort of “his” to match the “hers” Scarlet Sparkler Scarf that I published last year around this time.  I actually designed both at the same time to kind of go together, but toddlers and other time sucks delayed the second half of the project.   Good thing my hubby is very patient.  Since so much of what I’ve been doing is design related, I thought I’d share my original sketch for this design, where the idea in my head finally begins to take form on paper.

That’s not my hubby, btw.  He’s much cuter 😉 !   You’ll see.  So this is what I’ve been doing most intensely lately: taking more of my post-it sized cartoon ideas, and making them into fully formed sketches and garments.

On to the reading.  I just cracked open a new book, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, by Marisha Pessl .  I chose it purely on the merits of the title – as the daughter of two physicists, I couldn’t resist.  Fortunately, I did not suffer from mis-judging the book by its cover.  From the first pages I am smitten!  What clever turn-of-phrase, and spot on descriptions – although I still have no idea what it’s about.  I hope it continues to be a fun read, but so far I’m impressed.

See you all back here Friday – those toddler tidbits are ready for their FO debut!

