Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Meet My Valentine:

I finally finished my Hubby’s scarf, and even got some pictures!  No one deserves it more.  He has waited patiently for over a year for his “simple” scarf, and I was thrilled to finally be able to give it to him just in time for Valentine’s Day.  He’s the love of my life, and the sweetest, best friend and husband I could ever have dreamed of.  I know it’s a little sappy, but it has to be said.  Oh, and he’s a super Daddy too!

Lil One saw the scarf blocking in my studio and pronounced “It’s beautiful!  Daddy will look like a prince, and be happily married.”  Well, yes actually, that does seem to be the case. 😉

The scarf seemed to take forever to complete – from failed attempts to blend impossibly mis-matched dye lots, to waiting 6 months for matching replacements, to the stop and go progress as I kept setting it aside for more “pressing” knits, every step of the way it was anything but quick.   He really does love it though, and I love him, so all that time and fuss was totally worth it.  I designed the Sweet Ginger Scarf for him one year and three months ago along with the Scarlet Sparkler Scarf as a “His and Hers” set of reversible sock yarn scarves using the soft and elegant Madelinetosh Sock Yarn I had come to love for next-to-neck knitting.  We both like flexible thinner fabric that we can toss, tuck and layer at will, so a sock yarn that was worked in a completely reversible pattern suits our style perfectly.  For him, I didn’t want to get too ornate, but I didn’t want to fall asleep at the needles either.  The happy medium was a simple masculine checker pattern, with a section of reversible 2 over 2 cable to give it just a little interest.  The yarn worked up beautifully with a soft feel, lovely drape, and I couldn’t be happier with the result.

Knitting is one of the ways I say “I love you”, and this is no exception.  Every stitch is a hug and kiss for my amber-eyed, sweet Valentine, always and forever. 

Hope you had a very Happy Valentine’s day everyone!

