Tags

, , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

The weather was so nice today that I completely abandoned my work and went outside with Lil One, Big Bro, and my three dachsies to play.  I even got to take pictures outside for the first time in a long time.  So, above, we have one “Back in Black” Button-top Leg Warmer for me (new design in progress), which is what I am knitting right now, and my latest read, The Knitter’s Book Of Socks, by Clara Parkes, nestled in a very appropriate Ash Wednesday location, the “Lenten Rose” (Helleborus Orientalis) plants in my garden.  All of these things make me happy, but the Spring-inspired energy and sheer joy of the day I think is best expressed by this photo:

Clara Parkes’ Book is wonderful and appealed to the textile science side of my creativity.  It was really nice to read about the “yarn behind the socks”, as it were.  I did take a full college course in textile science, but a specific refresher like this is always welcome, and she made it readable and applicable for sock knitting, which can be tricky to do.  The patterns were also gorgeous.  I am particularly intrigued by Stephen Houghton’s “Salted Caramels” use of “faux cable” or “flat cable” textures.  It may go in the queue for use with my leftover ginger sock yarn from hubby’s scarf.  I borrowed the book at the library, but I’ll be purchasing my own copy soon I think.  It is right up there on my list with the Sock Knitting Master Class, which is also wonderful.

An aside:  Speaking of dachsies- I have to wish my “Old Man” a quick Happy Birthday.  Hansi, my oldest little wiener dog, turned 15 this month.  He’s almost all grey on the muzzle now, and as handsome and spirited as ever!

Wishing everyone a great day, week and Spring!

