Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

This week finds me quite busy starting all kinds of new things!  I took advantage of a fabric sale at Joann Fabrics, which led to a trip to the Library to get a selection of sewing and embroidery books including my old friend Simon Henry’s The Little Best Dress.  While I was there I couldn’t help but seek out another Clara Parkes treasure, The Knitter’s Book of Yarn, and something that I had seen mentioned in Interweave called Finishing School, by Deborah Newton.  Add to that two tomes on embroidery, and I have a lot of learning to do over the next couple of weeks!

Today there was a pause in the action as the bad weather set in and left Lil One and I looking wistfully out the window wishing spring would hurry back soon. 

I cheered myself by knitting on my “Sunny Lil Socks”, inspired by another Yarn Along Blogger’s remedy to the winter blahs: “Add a little Yellow to Your Life.”  Lil seems focused on her ballet dancing, watching Puss in Boots (and dancing some more) and the lovely purple rose she selected for herself on our shopping trip.  In addition to my cheerful socks, I am also really excited about the spring palette Lil and I picked out at the fabric store.

She loves purple, so, no surprise, she selected a lovely purple cotton print, and of course, the matching flower :).  She hasn’t stopped asking me when “we” are going to make it.  So cute.  In addition to the purple, Mommy picked out some apricot cotton and grey-blue satin which I’ll be using to make her Easter dress, repleat with embroidered split-front over-skirt and a matching apricot knit cardigan.  I’m designing this one myself, so it will be an adventure.  And last, and perhaps my favorite, is the aqua, apricot and fuchsia print which will hopefully become something for me.  I’m just not sure if it’ll be a dress or a set of pillows for my studio – the jury’s still out. 

Wow, I feel a little dizzy.  One leap at a time I guess 😉 !

So what’s on your needles and night-stand this week?

