Tags

, , , , , , ,

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

This week was SO NICE!  I threw household chores out the window this week and just let the spring weather draw us out into the garden as much as possible.  I really have to say, these are the days I dream about – gardening with my beautiful Lil One, innocently examining everything from the tiniest bug to the clouds overhead, then curling up and knitting all evening long beside my Hubby.  Can you hear the purrr?

So, this week I’ve been knitting on my newest sock type: Knee-Highs!  At the same time, this marks a milestone in my stash busting efforts.  Around the start of the year, I promised myself I would knit six projects from stash yarn before allowing myself to buy yarn for a “non-stash” project.  Roughly speaking it also included a structure of at least one new design idea and one full size sweater in those six, with an exception rule for test knits in pursuit of developing a design.  Well, so far, it is all working pretty well.  I finished two full-sized sweaters, worked on the new leg warmer idea (including one small yarn purchase), and then finished a scarf, two Lil One accessories, a Lil Sweater, and a pair of socks.  That’s eight all together!

Now I am on my “non-stash” knit, Alaskan Salmon Socks, and I feel very accomplished for sticking to the plan.  I’m using the Three Irish Girls McClellan Fingering yarn in Salmon which I posted about a while back.  The pattern is the Czarina’s Lace knee-highs by Barb Brown.  I was nearly done with the sock when I took the pic today, then when I counted the stitches on the toe, I realized I screwed up way back at the gusset. Rip, rip, rip, count.  I should have known better than to knit until midnight!  That’s always when my arithmetic goes out the window!  I like the pattern so far, and the yarn is absolute heaven!

As for reading, I will just mention one of the many books I’ve been darting in and out of in recent weeks:  Preschool Art: It’s The Process, Not The Product,  by MaryAnn Kohl.  It is a great resource if you have 3-5 year olds in your house.  I found some of my childhood favorites like salt-dough and marble paper making, along with some great new ideas including some fantastic chalk-on-sponge painting, and of course a scrap yarn project or two.  I promise I’ll share when the next rainy day necessitates an inside project to keep Lil One Busy.

In the meantime, like I said to start, we’ve been all about the gardening this week.  Lil One picked out some purple pansies at our local Home Depot and helped me plant them in a pot.  Here she is chatting away as she arranged them on her “work table”…

…and then patiently waited for Mommy to “put the camera away” and help her find a pot.  Yes, sweetie.  Just one more picture for Mommy?

Of course her favorite part was filling her little plastic bucket with potting soil and making a huge mess putting it in the planter.  I’m so glad she likes to be clean most days, but in this case I was equally glad to see her delight in dirt!  When we were all done, she wanted to take a picture herself, and I helped her look through the view finder as she clicked away.  Her Grand Daddy has apparently passed the shutter bug passion on to her too!  So here’s Lil One’s first contribution, a “toddler’s eye view”, to the blog:

Enjoy the week and indulge in the innocence and fresh views of Spring!

