Tags

, , , , ,

I was all set to “yarn along” yesterday, then in my “after the baby’s in bed” work zone, the cry arose “Mommmmmyyyyyyy!”  Sigh,  Lil One is going through a phase of not sleeping through the night again.  We keep trying to help her sleep soundly, but nearly every night for a week now we’ve been up multiple times to answer her scared little cry.  I know it’s just a phase, again, but it feels very long and I am running out of ideas!  I guess this is why patience is at the very top of the list of virtues Mother’s must possess.

In any case, I share today, a little late, what I’ve been up to during the past week.  First of all the wip and reading:

The book you see open is “Sew Everything Workshop” by Diana Rupp, which I am just getting into reading.  I of course checked out all of the pictures first, and I have to say, to my surprise, This little outfit with knickers is just calling my name!  Not only would they be cute, as shown, with boots, but I am already dreaming of the fabulous knee socks that could compliment a fab. pair of knickers.  One thing that this book has underscored for me with respect to my design motivation is what the author says in the intro: “I love clothes, not fashion”.  I don’t really care for the trendy, and sometimes impractical runway scene, but rather lean toward timeless and fun custom clothing.  I’m all for couture details and fashionable cuts, but tempered with real life wearability.  I think sometimes it’s the old-fashioned influence of my Grandma – If you’re going to take the time to make something of quality, custom fit and beautiful, you should be able to wear it for years to come.  Moving back into sewing more has also given me the capability to dream a little bigger – I can design and MAKE the whole outfit, not just a sweater, or just a skirt.  I really love the idea of being able to pair my knitted creations with just the right companion pieces to make a whole look!

In knitting land I had what you might call knitter’s block.  I kinda lost a little creative mojo and needed a fall back project to let my mind rest and re-order itself a little.  In steps the Beekeeper’s Quilt.  I decided to get back to this project in earnest and I had a very relaxing week or so just playing with color and turning out puff after puff.  I have twenty-five now, and of course Lil One thinks they are an art project in themselves.  We had fun playing with arrangements and this is one of her cute little hexi-puff pictures:

They were the perfect no-brainer project for me, and I think from now on I’m going to allow myself a few hexi-puff “days off” whenever I feel less than excited about my other knitting and designing.

What do you do when the creative energy is low?

The good news is, my creative mind is now super-charged, and I’ve designed another new sock, and the leaves in the first picture are the beginning of yet another test knit for an upcoming design!  I’ll have plenty to share in the days to come.  See you back here soon!