Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In the midst of all of my adventures lately, knitting and otherwise, I’ve just designed a new toddler sock:  Lacy Lil Socks

These were a seat-of-the-pants kind of thing that seemed perfect to use up the partial skeins I had of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Yarn in the limited edition colorway “Clara’s Garden”.  I wanted something to match her princess loving feminine side, and lace cuffs seemed just the thing.  She insisted on wearing her fanciest dress and her “heels” when I asked her if I could take her picture.  She is already a little fashion dictator, but check out how happy and cute she was:

Of course she didn’t realize that I mostly needed to take pictures of her feet.  In any case, we have happy warm toes now, even in sleeveless party dresses.

The fun thing about toddler size feet is that you don’t need a ton of yarn.  These only took about two-thirds of a 2 oz skein of sock yarn, and they even have a fold over cuff! I went toe-up and used a short-row heel, and the resulting “holes” actually blend nicely with the lace work on the cuff.  The cuff is created with a simple two-row lace pattern that I simply flared a little for a gentle wave at the cuff.

I have really come to love lace socks for hand-dyed yarn because the varied rows seem to mix up the yarn and lessen stripes and pooling to some extent.  Of course, I love the neat little stripes on the foot as well – accidentally perfect!  The final yarn selection will most likely be from the wonderful hand dyed yarns at Tucker Woods Artisan Yarns & Fibers, taking advantage of her adorable mini cakes of “BB Toes” called “BB Cakes”.

I am really happy with this design, not only the finished socks, but also the fact that it went so smoothly.  I have to thank Cat Bordhi again for her excellent information on fit and sizing.  With that information at hand, I really just started and knit right through – and they fit perfectly!  I didn’t really use her techniques on this one, but the general guidance and inspiration from her book, New Pathways for Sock Knitters, is invaluable.

This is the first of 6 new “Toddler Toes” designs I’m working on, so stay tuned for more designs, calls for testing, and of course the final published pattern book!

