Tags

, , , , , ,

Joining in for the “Yarn Along” over at small things:

I’ve been all about re-centering the last few weeks.  Vacation always gives me the calm space I need to prioritize and push myself to create new goals.  I decided after finishing the Cherry Sweet sweater for Lil One, that I needed to stick to my stash busting program, and finish the last item on the list for this “unit”:  25 hexi-puffs.   What’s rewarding, is now that I’ve gotten up to just under 50 puffs, I was able to lay them out and actually get a glimpse of how the whole thing will look as a blanket.  It’s so lively and fun!  I’m more motivated than ever to keep “puffing” away on this project.  Of course, every one I make also makes me want to knit socks again!  I think Lil One has another little pair of socks in her future!  Back to school shorties?  Here’s a glimpse of the hive building:

Of course, at the same time I was knitting up the puffs, I was swatching and blocking for my next project.  All went well, and so, even though I’m not quite done with the 25th puff for this batch, I cast on for my Silk Chevron Tank Top.  When I saw the pattern I immediately decided it would make a great stash buster project for my various single skeins of Halcyon’s Gemstone Silk yarn.  These colors came together to remind me of a fall garden: lush in plum, coral and copper leaves with a surprise pop of light aster purple.  I can’t wait to wear it.  The yarn feels like pure luxury under my fingers as I work.

At the same time all this sitting on my butt knitting is going on, I’ve been trying to get off my butt, and excited about exercising again.  Again, I’m on a centering and renewal kick lately 🙂 .  Like a lot of Moms, it’s tough to fit it in with a little one under foot all day – both mentally and physically.  Of course, we forgive ourselves for a little while, but at some point I think you just say “enough!”, and want to really get back that fit person you were pre-baby.  For me, Pilates seems to be the way to go.  I have an extensive dance background, but a serious knee injury prevents me from really going back to that sort of exercise routine.  In reading my book Pilates: Body In Motion, by Alycea Ungaro, I discovered that many dancers turn to Pilates after an injury to maintain tone while working in a more stable and low impact framework.  I really like the “DK” book format (heavy on the pictures) and the author does a really nice job relating the core ideas behind Pilates.  So I’m reading on into the book and working with some videos to give it a fresh try, and see if I can’t get my dancer’s poise back without killing my knees!

So, what are you reading and knitting this summer?