Tags

, ,

I had grand plans of posting new knits and news about yarn, but all of that must be set aside for just a moment because of all this SNOW!  It started out as a picturesque powdery snowfall on Friday with kids home from school and everyone expecting a pretty good amount of snow. pictureperfect

Hey, we’re from New England, nothing to get crazy about.  Those newscasters always try to drum up the drama and scare everyone, right?  Well, not this time.  We had a true blizzard here, and by the next morning this was the view out my kitchen window.kitchensnow

We had 40 inches to be exact.  I know I haven’t seen that much since ’78.  You could stack my three dachsies up and they still couldn’t see over the top of it!  So, Saturday morning, a 3′ x 5′ slot was carved out for the little weenie dogs to do their thing, and the rest of us just accepted that staying inside was the best idea.   This was the state of my car as of Saturday Evening (and that post sticking out just above the snow is my four foot fence).

carinsnow

I’ve been knitting and writing like crazy, of course.  Yesterday, I did finally venture outside and Lil One had ample snowball material to play with… and jump on😉 !

jumponitWe did make a channel down the driveway, and the main road which we live on was plowed finally.  Here’s the boys after around 3 hours of work just about to break through the end of our long driveway.

boysinsnowOf course, a car still can’t fit through it, but it did bring peace of mind that we aren’t totally trapped!  Many of our neighbors on the side streets still aren’t plowed out.

Today, day 4 of this snowbound situation, it rained most of the day.  Needless to say it was so disgusting I couldn’t even bring myself to take a picture.  No school again tomorrow, and we still haven’t uncovered the car.  Oh well!  Back to the spring knitting (the bright spot), and maybe another round of cooking, cleaning and sacking out to watch a movie with the family.  I’m just going to focus on the cute, happy moments and try to ignore the rest!

happysnowgirlIf you are also in the hard hit areas, we offer our sympathy and prayers.  Keep safe, and may you have lots of extra yarn to keep busy while we wait!