Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love they way Lil One sees things.  It is a classic maternal experience – she finds new ways to love and use things that I just see as ordinary “stuff”.  We did a little tree removal project last week which has littered the yard with branches and logs.  When I had Lil One outside a couple of days ago she thought the maple buds were pretty flowers and asked to “hab it”.  She collected several branch tips to give to her Nonna, Dad and I, in her cute little ceremonious way, and we dutifully thanked her.  I started wondering if I could use the budding branches in a flower arrangement!

 

Later on in our travels she found an old stump that I always grumble about being an eye sore, and she thought it was a perfect little seat.  Isn’t amazing how children can see the upside?  I love it!

Of course, all the while she was sporting my latest “FO” the Berry Cute Headband I whipped up in an evening with the leftovers from her Baby Hepburn Crop Coat.  A few details:

Pattern – Blue Leaf Headband, by Adrienne Krey

Yarn & Needle – Cascade Yarns “Baby Alpaca Chunky Paints“, color no. 9848, and I used a U.S. 10 needle

Finished size – about 4.5 inches wide by 17 inches long overall (including 4 inch i-cord section)

Out of the several options to finish it I went with a 3 stitch i-cord which I created as a continuation off the end of the headband’s last row, then looped at the end to go over the button.  The button was a leftover from the sweater, but it doesn’t show in the pictures with all those dark auburn curls bouncing in the wind 😉 .  It’s a great pattern for a quick satisfying knit when you need a break from larger projects.  I am almost tempted to buy some yarn to make one for myself, but I am remaining disciplined and “shopping from my stash” so it will have to wait until I use up more of stash. 

Ooh!  I almost forgot!  FYI – If you love the baby alpaca chunky yarn, (and maybe have plans to make the Baby Hepburn Crop for a little one in your life) the Misti Alpaca Hand Paint Chunky (which I recently saw and loved) has several colors that are being discontinued and WEBS (www.yarn.com) is offering them at a serious discount.  Find the details here.

Have a great holiday weekend!