Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My Lil One and I are huge fans of the hat.  We both have many, and somehow there’s always room for one more, or five or six!  A hat is easy on the wallet, and the schedule, so I love putting one on the needles and having something to wear in just a couple of days.  It seems I’ve been on quite a bit of a hat making spree lately, and we’re both thrilled to have so many new styles to try out… if only it weren’t hot outside!

So here’s a little review of the latest FO hats:

First up, the Purple Asbury, for Lil One.  This one I made just for her.  It is based on a Spanish Doily pattern, and I thought it would be a great fashion hat for her to dress up with, even if it isn’t very warm.  The pattern is Asbury Beret, adapted by Beth Nielsen, and I worked it up in String Theory’s Bluestocking.  I do like the yarn, but it’s halo didn’t yield a super crisp texture to show off the lace work.  I think if I made it again I might try a Cascade Heritage Silk or String Theory’s Caper Sock instead.

purpleasbury

Then we move to the other extreme – warm and wooly.  I’ve had the privilege to sample knit a few patterns recently.  The first one I have to show you is from Jocelyn Tunney, over at O-wool.  The pattern is called “Picholine“, and this one is made up in a lovely dark red shade called “Pomegranate” in O-wool Legacy Bulky.  It is warm and cozy, but the slouch keeps it from feeling stuffy.  I plan on making several more of these.  They are one day knits, and would be great last-minute gifts too.  Alas, samples have to go back to the yarn company, but I always try to grab a quick picture before I send them on their way.  Lil One begged to model it, so she got the job of course – who could resist those dreamy green eyes?

redsidepich

The third hat is also a sample, this time for Manos del Uruguay.  The design is by Melissa LaBarre, and called “Peasleeville“, and the yarn is called Maxima, from Manos of course.  I loved the color they chose, “Zinnia”, and the yarn was soft and squishy.  The cable band was engaging to knit, and then the top of the hat gets picked up and knit up in seed stitch.  I got to wear this one for my photos, and I have to say, I think it would make a great hat for me this winter.  Again, just in love with the color!

frontmanos

Here’s looking forward to hat weather!